Judith M Berrisford

Judith M Berrisford was a pen name used by writers Clifford and Mary Lewis, writers of animal books for children.

The Jackie series was one of their longest creations. It lasted for 16 titles, comfortably beating both Jill (9) and Georgia (10).

Most of Judith Berrisford’s characters are enthusiastic and uncomplicated, but it is her animal stories that have a particular charm. The two cat stories we publish are aimed at the younger reader, and are charming stories of brave cats having adventures. They are both extremely difficult to find in the originals now, and are brilliant comfort reading.

The Cats of Winkle Bay series

The Cats of Winkle Bay

The Far from Home Cats

picture credit: Canva